2 CD

Label: Wardour 337
Country: Japan
Released: April 2019
Recorded: Live at Deutschlandhalle, Berlin, Germany 28th April 1978.
Sound: Excellent audience recording.
Comments:  From the 'News Of The World' European Tour in springtime 1978.
Roots: Audience recorded tape.
Time: 61:51 / 58:56

Front cover
 1. Intro.
 2. We Will Rock You  (slow)
 3. We Will Rock You  (fast)
 4. Brighton Rock
 5. Somebody To Love
 6. Death On Two Legs
 7. Killer Queen
 8. Good Old Fashioned Lover Boy
 9. I'm In Love With My Car
 10. Get Down, Make Love
 11. The Millionaire Waltz
 12. You're My Best Friend
 13. Spread Your Wings
 14. It's Late
 15. Now I'm Here
 16. Love Of My Life
 17. ' 39

 1. My Melancholy Blues
 2. White Man
 3. The Prophet's Song
 4. Stone Cold Crazy
 5. Bohemian Rhapsody
 6. Keep Yourself Alive
 7. Tie Your Mother Down
 8. We Will Rock You
 9. We Are The Champions
 10. Big Spender
 11. Sheer Heart Attack
 12. Jailhouse Rock
 13. God Save The Queen

Back to bootleg CD  page      Back to MAIN PAGE

Back cover


"NEWS OF THE WORLD TOUR" which is not blessed with recording well in QUEEN history. The representative sound source which heals the dry of such an auspicious era brush up. It is permanent preservation press CD decision.
It is "April 28, 1978 Berlin performance" that is included in such a work. It is the masterpiece audience recording. Speaking of 1978, there is no show in Japan, and the time when "NEWS OF THE WORLD TOUR" and "JAZZ TOUR" intersected. First, let's check the show position from the schedule at that time.

 ● 1977
 "Oct. 28" NEWS OF THE WORLD "released"
 - November 11-December 22: North America (26 performances)

 ● 1978
 -April 12-May 3: Europe (15 shows)
 - May 6-13: Britain (5 performances)
 "July" JAZZ "production start"

This is the schedule of "NEWS OF THE WORLD". Speaking of the symbol of this tour, "ULTIMATE HOUSTON 1977 (Wardour-246)" of professional shot & sound board reigns more than anything, but it is the record of the opening "North America" ​​leg. On the other hand, this work is a concert equivalent to the 12 performances of "Europe" leg in the second half of the tour.
Such this work is just a name recording appropriate to represent the European edition of "NEWS OF THE WORLD TOUR". Obtained a master of Gene Waka from the master label "BERLIN '78" of Trial label. Furthermore, the pitch has been corrected, and the sound has become easier to listen to. The best master obtained directly from Europe's No. 1 queen collector. What's more wonderful is the on-core. Although it is a vintage audience, it hardly feels a sense of distance, and the power and momentum of QUEEN, which is still hard rock, is coming close. It's a lot of momentum, it's a lot of illusion, but when you listen to it, it has a solid outline, and it has a sharp edge and a bass line. It sounds like a little AM ​​broadcast.

And Freeie. No matter how aggressive the instrumental band becomes, no matter how thick the chorus is, whether the venue screams loudly, the youthful and blueish singing voice cuts everything and jumps into the ear. The swaying Vivrat and the powerful shout are also vivid. Speaking of the highest peak audience of "NEWS OF THE WORLD TOUR", "DEFINITIVE DENMARK NEWS (Wardour-109)" also comes to light, but this work is no less inferior. It is just a name recording that can be called 2 top.
The sound that is depicted in the sound is a famous performance that is said to be one of the best on the tour. It was the first Berlin show for QUEEN, but that is why Fredy is in great shape! It's a pleasant stretch, and you're free to shake the vibrato. Moreover, high tension. As if I'm glad to hear the voice as I wanted, it is full of energy and good feeling, and the implovaison is full of exhilaration as if I try my throat.

Of course, if Freddie is doing well there, the band also gets on. Although there is a bad habit that Brian loses a sound at the end of "Bohemian Rhapsody", it is not the number of things such as such a small mistake. Hard driving feeling is great. And, the set also has a strong sense of hard rock. "We Will Rock You" and "We Are The Champions" are played but not yet at the promised Angkor finale, and "Brighton Rock" and "Stone Cold Crazy" are also close to the original. The flow was able to be tasted with "DEFINITIVE DENMARK NEWS", but the special one is "Big Spender"! It is a repertoire from the beginning of the formation, but to the middle of "A DAY AT THE RACES TOUR". There is little to be played on this tour, and it carries an early resentment along with aggressive performances.

"NEWS OF THE WORLD TOUR" which was a sound source barren area connecting the early and middle period. "Spread Your Wings" "It's Late" "Big Spender" which can not be heard even in "ULTIMATE HOUSTON 1977" is a representative work condensed the flavor of the European edition. Highest quality board ever recorded by Best Master, who overturned the common sense of Berlin recordings. Please enjoy it with Perpetual Save Press 2CD!