2 CD

Country: Japan
Released: June 2011
Recorded: Budokan Hall ,Tokyo Japan,  March 22nd. 1976.
Sound: Excellent audience recording.
Comments:  Tarantura released Queen Get Your Knickers Off.  Utilizing a Mr. Peach tape, this covers the first night of the Japanese A Night At The Opera tour on March 22nd, 1976 in Tokyo.  Previously the earliest tape from this tour was the following night in Nagoya, so this release documents a previously unheard show.
Roots: From a audience tape.

Front cover

 CD 1
 01. Opening
 02. Introduction
 03. Bohemian Rhapsody
 04. Ogre Battle
 05. MC
 06. Sweet Lady
 07. MC
 08. White Queen
 09. MC
 10. Flick Of The Wrist
 11. MC
 12. Medley: Bohemian Rhapsody
 13.              Killer Queen
 14.              The March Of The Black Queen
 15.              Bohemian Rhapsody  (end part)
 16. Bring Back That Leroy Brown
 17. MC
 18. Brighton Rock
 19. Guitar Solo
 20. Brighton Rock
 21. Son And Daughter
 CD 2
 01. Band Introduction
 02. The Prophet's Song
 03. Stone Cold Crazy
 04. MC
 05. Doing Alright
 06. Lazing On A Sunday Afternoon
 07. Keep Yourself Alive
 08. Drum Solo
 09. Keep Yourself Alive
 10. Liar
 11. In The Lap Of The Gods...Revisited
 - - - - - - - - - encore - - - - - - - - -
 12. Now I'm Here 
 13. Big Spender
 14. Jailhouse Rock (Oldies Medley)
 15. God Save The Queen

   THIS is the 2nd. re-release of this 2cd.
Same cover, but some text printed in yellow. 

Back to bootleg page

Back cover

  Review by Collectors music reviews

Queen second tour of Japan, after they scored their biggest worldwide hit with single ”Bohemian Rhapsody” and LP A Night At The Opera, began on March 22nd in Tokyo and covered ten shows in six cities.  Nine of the shows were taped and in circulation and were the source for many titles on both vinyl and silver pressed disc with the second night of the tour in Nagoya on March 23rd the earliest.  The opening night in Tokyo was the missing link. 

Get Your Knickers Off on Tarantura is the first time the opening night has been made available.  It is a Mr. Peach recording of the entire show, including the long audience-cheering encore interludes.  Compared to other Peach recordings it is slightly distant from the stage but still very clear and detailed.

Eleven days followed the final show of their US tour in San Diego on March 12th and the band sound, during the initial numbers, well rehearsed and enthusiastic to be in Japan again.  The Kenny Everett opening tape leads into the already famous operatic middle of “Bohemian Rhapsody” before the band come on stage for the hard rock final verse. 
Queen give the audience a heavy metal attack.  The new song “Sweet Lady” is very powerful, quickly inciting the audience into a frenzy.  Afterwards Freddie laughs, thanks the audience for the warm welcome, and drinks a toast to Tokyo before introducing the next number “White Queen.”

Brian May breaks a string during “White Queen” and has to switch to a spare guitar in the middle of the song.  It comes close to ruining what is an otherwise excellent performance.  Afterwards May tells Tokyo “it’s good to back. It’s been too long. We’ve been away too long” before introducing “Flick Of The Wrist” from Sheer Heart Attack.
The medley is fraught with problems.  May botches the guitar part in the “Bohemian Rhapsody,” playing a strange out-of-tune melody, and Roger Taylor’s mic cuts out (or he misses a cue) in “The March Of The Black Queen” (the “my love is in your hand” part).
Things improve afterwards.  “Brighton Rock,” which Freddie introduces by saying “is a song that we didn’t  do last time, but we’re gonna do it now,” is extremely heavy and powerful.  The guitar solo segues into the well-worn “Son And Daughter” riff and that song’s climax.
“The Prophet’s Song” is May’s second epic played in a row.  Freddie duplicates his vocal gymnastics effectively before the song segues into “Stone Cold Crazy.”  The contrast between the finesse of the former and heavy metal crunch of the latter is startling.
“Liar” is notable for the utter enthusiasm of the Tokyo audience, clapping along and responding to Freddie’s “I’m gonna be your slave…” with “ALL NIGHT LONG.”  It is a very big, long and loud sing-along.  May’s introduction to “In The Lap Of The Gods…Revisited” is cut.  “Now I’m Here” and the oldies medley close the show.

Tarantura package Get Your Knickers Off in a gatefold cardboard sleeve with several rare photographs from the 1976 tour of Japan.  It’s a very nice release, a true gem, that is highly recommended for Queen collectors.