2 CD

Label: Tarantura
Country: Japan
Released: October 2011 
Recorded: Budokan Hall, Tokyo, Japan, Friday 13th February 1981
Sound: Audience recording
Comments:  From 'The Game' tour in Japan. Fold-out full color carton cover.
Roots: From a audience recorded tape.

Front cover

 CD 1
 01. Intro
 02. Jailhouse Rock
 03. We Will Rock You (fast)
 04. Let Me Entertain You
 05. Play The Game
 06. Mustapha
 07. Death On Two Legs
 08. Killer Queen
 09. I'm In Love With My Car
 10. Get Down, Make Love
 11. Need Your Loving Tonight       
 12. Save Me
 13. Now I'm Here
 14. Everybody All Right
 15. Dragon Attack
 16. Now I'm Here (reprise)
 17. Love Of My Life

 CD 2
 01. Keep Yourself Alive
 02. Drum Solo
 03. In The Death Cell
 04. Guitar solo
 05. Vultan's Theme
 06. Battle Theme
 07. Flash
 08. The Hero
 09. Crazy Little Thing Called Love
 10. Bohemian Rhapsody
 11. Tie Your Mother Down
 12. Another One Bites The Dust
 13. Sheer Heart Attack
 14. We Will Rock You
 15. We Are The Champions
 16. God Save The Queen
 17. Announcement 

Back to bootleg page

Back cover

   Review by Collectors music reviews

After the highly successful Game tour in 1980 Queen played five nights at the Budokan in Tokyo from February 12th to the 18th.  The band attended the Japan premier of the film Flash Gordon on February 10th, two nights before the opening show, and played a unique medley of tunes from the film during the performances. 

Need Your Loving Tonight on Tarantura utilizes a new Mr. Peach recording of the event.  Compared to the older tape pressed on Need You Loving Rock (Gypsy Eye GE-206/207), this is closer to the stage and much louder. 

The break benefited Queen greatly.  When the band are uptight they normally deliver an exciting show but when they are loose they can create such tremendous excitement and charisma and the second Tokyo show must rank among the very best. 

The opening moments onstage are occupied with the same songs from the Game tour with ”Jailhouse Rock,” “We Will Rock You” and “Let Me Entertain You,” all excellent songs in building the excitement.  ”Play The Game” provides some respite although Freddie truly blows his lungs out during the piece.  

The medley begins with “Mustapha” and as Freddie is trying to get the crowd to sing along he interrupts the second “Ibrahim,” saying “stay in fucking tune!!!”  “Death On Two Legs” had been an important part of the medley but five years after being introduced to the stage after Queen had become international superstars wore out its welcome and it would be dropped after this year.  “Killer Queen” is very aggressive tonight with Freddie growling out the words.

“Fat Bottomed Girls” is dropped this night in favor of “Need Your Loving Tonight.”  There is some commotion at the front of the stage when Freddie is introducing “Save Me.”  He can be heard shouting ”Get him off!” a couple times and Brian is a bit distracted at the piano.  In the middle of the next song “Now I’m Here” Freddie tries very hard to get the audience to clap in time. 

“Dragon Attack” makes an appearance before “Now I’m Here” comes back again, beginning very slow and deliberate before “down in the city just Hoople and me.”  The following “Love Of My Life” is the only acoustic number played in the set.  May introduces the song in Japanese and the crowd sing along.  

“Keep Yourself Alive” begins another exciting interlude in the show.  May plays unique, mind bending riffs in the breaks which seems to confuse the rest of the band.  Taylor plays a short drum solo as May goes into his solo spot with tympani underlining the opening notes.  The six minute guitar solo, which would normally segue into the final verse of “Brighton Rock” goes into the “Vultan” theme from Flash Gordon instead. 

Begun by Taylor on the drums, Freddie plays the catchy melody on synthesizer.  They sustain it for almost two minutes before segueing into the bombastic “Battle” theme, running into “Flash” and finally ending with “The Hero.”  It is the first time this arrangement was played on stage and would remain for the three remaining Tokyo shows (Feb 16, 17, and 18). 

There is a small mistake when Taylor leads them into “The Hero” but May plays the “Battle” theme again.  Freddie can be heard saying, “when am I singing?”  The other nights would be much more polished but it’s a shame they never attempted this  medley after Japan. 

The energy continues with an improvisatory version of “Crazy Little Thing Called Love” and an impressive vocal performance in “Bohemian Rhapsody.”

Need Your Loving Tonight is packaged in a gorgeous gatefold sleeve with photographs from the Budokan shows.