2 CD

Label: SMOKIN'  SMCD975
Country: Europe.
Released: July or August 2020.
Recorded: Live at Super Bowl, Sun City, Bophuthatswana, South Africa 19th October 1984.
Sound: Excellent soundboard recording. But not as good as officially live recording.
Comments:  One more bootleg from this soundboard leaked recording, from the last gig on the South Africa tour in October 1984.

All this bootlegs from this concert, comes from the same source, as far as I know.
I've been told it's from a mp3 source, which was put on internet for some years ago.
I can neither confirm nor deny this, but the information come from a serious collector, so that may be the case.
Cover say's African broadcast, but my research so far, can NOT confirm that there have been any radio broadcasts of this concert.
Roots: Leaked soundboard recording.

Front cover
CD 1
1 Intro: Machines  1:42  (tape)
2 Tear It Up  1:43
3 Tie your Mother Down  3:46
4 Under Pressure  3:36
5 Somebody To Love  3:39
6 The March Of The Black Queen  0:27  (instrumental)
7 My Fairy King  0:38  (instrumental)
8 Killer Queen  2:03
9 Seven Seas Of Rhye  1:17
10 Keep Yourself Alive  2:15
11 Liar  2:36
12 Impromptu  5:02
13 It’s A Hard Life  4:53
14 Dragon Attack  4:53
15 Now I’m Here  5:41

CD 2
1 Is This The World We Created?  3:26
2 Love Of My Life  1:52
3 Another One Bites The Dust  4:29
4 We Will Rock You  0:36
5 Hammer To Fall  5:32
6 Crazy Little Thing Called Love  5:43
7 Bohemian Rhapsody  5:35
8 Radio Ga Ga  5:52
9 I Want To Break Free  3:14
10 Jailhouse Rock  2:46
11 We Will Rock You  2:28
12 We Are The Champions  3:15
- - - - - - - bonus - - - - - - -
13 Interview with Brian and Roger  17:36

Back to bootleg CD  page      Back to MAIN PAGE

Back cover

From Internet.
  • In February 1984, Queen released their eleventh studio album, The Works, which included the successful singles ‘Radio Ga Ga’,

    ‘Hammer to Fall’ and ‘I Want to Break Free’. Despite these hit singles, the album failed to do well in the US, where the cross-dressing video for ‘I Want to Break Free’ – a parody of the British soap opera Coronation Street – proved controversial and was, ludicrously, banned by MTV, while in the UK the release went triple platinum and remained on the albums chart for two years.

  • That year, Queen began ‘The Works Tour’, the first to feature keyboardist Spike Edney as an extra live musician. The tour featured nine sold-out dates in October in Bophuthatswana, South Africa, at the arena in Sun City.

    Upon returning to England, the band were the subject of criticism, having played in South Africa during the height of apartheid and in violation of worldwide divestment efforts and a United Nations cultural boycott. The band responded to the critics by stating that they were playing music for fans in SA, and they also stressed that the concerts were played before integrated audiences. Queen donated to a school for the deaf and blind as a philanthropic gesture but were fined by the British Musicians' Union nevertheless.

  • Despite the politics involved in Queen’s decision to play in the republic, the shows performed were nothing if not dynamic and potent. Previously unreleased, the group’s concert at Sun City on 19th October - recorded for both TV and FM Radio Broadcast - was generally considered their finest of the SA dates, and possibly the best of the entire tour.
    NOTE: My deep research so far, cannot confirm that there have been any radio, or television broadcasts from this concert. So the information above is probably not correct. I have never seen any footages from this concert.

  • Now available in its entirety on this superb new 2 CD Set, the event can be re-lived for the extraordinary music and performance involved. The rest is of course up to the fans’ own personal views, convictions and politics – which every human being on the planet has the right to decide fully for themselves.