2 CD

Label: Wardour 475
Country: Japan.
Released: May 2021.
Recorded: Live at Budokan, Tokyo, Japan 18th February 1981.
Sound: Excellent audience recording.
Comments:  Complete concert on the last day of a 5 concert tour in Japan 1981. 'The Game' Japanese tour. All concert was at Budokan Hall in Tokyo, and all are out on bootlegs in more than less excellent audience recording.
This recording comes from a new source, different from the other 'Wardour 472' one , but luckily contains the entire show.
Roots: Audience recorded tape. New source. Master tape.
Time: 54:27 / 54:00

Front cover
 CD 1
 1. Intro
 2. We Will Rock You  (fast version)
 3. Let Me Entertain You
 4. The Millionaire Waltz  (short instrumental intro bits)
 5. Play the Game
 6. Mustapha
 7. Death on Two Legs
 8. Killer Queen
 9. I'm in Love With My Car
 10. Get Down, Make Love
 11. Rock It (Prime Jive)
 12. Save Me
 13. Now I'm Here ~
 14. Dragon Attack ~
 15. Now I'm Here  (reprise)
 16. Sakura Sakura  (Brian's guitar solo, Japanese song)
 17. Love of My Life
 CD 2
 1. Keep Yourself Alive
 2. Drum Solo
 3. Guitar Solo
 4. Vultan's Theme
 5. Battle Theme
 6. Flash
 7. The Hero
 8. Crazy Little Thing Called Love
 9. Bohemian Rhapsody
 10. Tie Your Mother Down
 11. Another One Bites the Dust
 12. Sheer Heart Attack
 13. We Will Rock You
 14. We Are the Champions
 15. Teo Torriatte (Let Us Cling Together)
 16. God Save the Queen


Back to bootleg CD  page      Back to MAIN PAGE

Back cover


 QUEEN in the "THE GAME" era, where both albums and singles were sent to No. 1 in the United States, and "GREATEST HITS" became a historic blockbuster. Two unreleased masters who have vacuum-packed the performance in Japan and have been unveiled for the first time in the world have been unearthed at the same time! It is a miracle simultaneous release decision. Although the two masters this time were excavated from a route that has nothing to do with each other, they were recorded on the same day. It is a shocking audience recording of the "February 18, 1981: Nippon Budokan" performance.

[New excavation of shock that transcends all conventional recordings]
Although four types of recordings have been known for this show, both of these two are the best impact masters for the first time. The simultaneous release "BUDOKAN 1981 FINAL NIGHT: DEFINITIVE MASTER (Wardour-472)" was the ultimate miracle sound, but unfortunately it was incompletely recorded. On the other hand, this work is a complete recording board of a full show that is imposing for the first time. Of course, if it's just a complete recording, it won't be a permanent storage press. The sound quality is also the highest level without complaint, and even if it does not reach "DEFINITIVE MASTER (Wardour-472)", it is a talented master with higher quality than any of the four types of recordings known so far.

In fact, what came out of the new master was a mysterious sound that had never been known before. Anyway clear & vivid. It's not as close as "DEFINITIVE MASTER", which has no sense of distance, but the details are clear and the sound is neat. Of course, Freddie's vocals are also beautiful recordings that are clear and clear word by word. In particular, the natural and lustrous sound is exquisite, and it is fresher than the best recordings of the past, yet it adds only dynamism deliciously without hiding the subtleties of the ensemble.

[Complete recording live album full of moving points]
And the best thing is the complete recording of the show. Of course, it is inevitable to cut the tape change of the era, but a part of "Now I'm Here" that was missed in the recording is complemented by utilizing the simultaneous release "DEFINITIVE MASTER". You can enjoy the whole show (there is another tape change after "Tie Your Mother Down", but it's waiting for Angkor, so it has nothing to do with the performance).

What is the complete form of such a show? Speaking of 1981, the official work "QUEEN ROCK MONTREAL" is famous, but this work is similar and different. To explain that, let's look back at the show's position in the panoramic view of "THE GAME Tour" and then look at the set comparison.

<< June 30 "THE GAME" released >>
・ June 30-July 14: North America # 1 (14 performances)
・ August 5th-September 30th: North America # 2 (35 performances)
"December 8" FLASH GORDON "released"
・ November 23-December 18: Europe (17 performances)

・ February 12-19: Japan (6 performances) ← ★ Coco ★
・ February 28-March 21: Latin America # 1 (7 performances)
・ September 25-October 18: Latin America # 2 (6 performances)
"October 26," GREATEST HITS ", single" Under Pressure "released"
・ November 24th + 25th: North America # 3 (2 performances) ← * Official
・ Queen of Dread: Keep Yourself Alive
・ Sheer Heart Attack: Killer Queen / Now I'm Here
・ A Night at the Opera: Death On Two Legs (★) / I'm In Love With My Car / Love Of My Life / Bohemian Rhapsody
・ A Day at the Races: The Millionaire Waltz (★) / Tie Your Mother Down / Teo Torriatte (Let Us Cling Together) (★)
・ News of the World: We Will Rock You (2 takes) / Get Down Make Love / Sheer Heart Attack / We Are The Champions
・ Jazz: Let Me Entertain You / Mustapha (★)
・ The Game: Play The Game / Rock It (Prime Jive) (★) / Save Me / Dragon Attack / Crazy Little Thing Called Love / Another One Bites The Dust
・ Flash Gordon: Vultan's Theme (Attack of the Hawk Men) (★) / Battle Theme (★) / Flash / The Hero
・ Others: Sakura Sakura (★)
* Note: "★" marks are songs that cannot be heard in "QUEEN ROCK MONTREAL".

And it looks like this. It's generally similar to "QUEEN ROCK MONTREAL", but the details are different. Of course, there is no "Under Pressure" before the single was released, but instead (?) You can listen to "Rock It (Prime Jive)" and "Mustapha". Even more historic are "Vultan's Theme (Attack of the Hawk Men)" and "The Millionaire Waltz". The former "Vultan's Theme" is performed as the beginning of the "FLASH GORDON" medley, but this song was only included in the Japanese performance. And while "The Millionaire Waltz" is just the piano intro to "Play the Game," Freddie played this song for the last time.

And speaking of Japan, "hold hands" and "Sakura Sakura" are also available. Especially, "holding hands" is very moving. I was playing before "We Will Rock You" the day before, but on this day I rushed to "We Are the Champions" and the show was over ... I thought, "God Save the Queen" "Does not flow. As the audience, who foresaw further encores, made desperate calls, they were performed with a moist piano play. At the very end of the final day, the curtain of the show is closed with a big chorus of excitement.

The first appearance, two new excavation masters who have dismissed all the existing ones. The sound book momentary record and the reality of the trouble scene are not as good as "DEFINITIVE MASTER (Wardour-472)", but as a musical work, this work is the perfect one. In any case, both are historic discoveries. Please enjoy it with the permanent storage press CD.

★ Recording of the best audience of the performance of "February 18, 1981: Nippon Budokan". It's a new excavation master that hasn't appeared on the market so far, and it sounds better than any conventional recording. Although the direct feeling is less than the same day live album "DEFINITIVE MASTER (Wardour-472)" released at the same time, this is a complete recording of the show. Freddie's last "The Millionaire Waltz", "Vultan's Theme (Attack of the Hawk Men)" which was only in Japan, "Hand in hand" to be shown at the end, etc. are full of moving points because it is a full live album. It's a masterpiece.

★★ Complete first appearance sound source. Complete recording, the finest recording board. There is no doubt that this board will be the best of the day!