Label: Uxbridge
Country: Japan
Released: February 2019
Recorded: Live at Stadthalle, Vienna, Austria 2nd May 1978
Sound: Excellent audience recording.
Comments:  From the European "News Of The World " tour spring 1978.
This concert is previously released on pro-bootlegs by other labels.
Uxbridge claimed this release has amazing perfect sound.
Roots: Audience recorded tape.
Time: 59:49 / 61:23

Front cover

  CDR 1
 1. We Will Rock You  (slow / fast)
 2. Brighton Rock
 3. Somebody To Love
 4. Death On Two Legs
 5. Killer Queen
 6. Good Old Fashioned Lover Boy
 7. I'm In Love With My Car
 8. Get Down, Make Love
 9. The Millionaire Waltz
 10. You're My Best Friend
 11. Spread Your Wings
 12. It's Late
 13. Now I'm Here
 14. Love Of My Life
  CDR 2
 1. '39
 2. My Melancholy Blues
 3. White Man
 4. The Prophet's Song incl. Guitar Solo
 5. Stone Cold Crazy
 6. Bohemian Rhapsody
 7. Keep Yourself Alive
 8. Tie Your Mother Down
 9. We Will Rock You
 10. We Are The Champions
 11. Sheer Heart Attack
 12. Jailhouse Rock
 13. God Save The Queen

Back to bootleg CDR  page        Back to main page 

Back cover

Review from Internet

Reproduction of the name recording which represented "NEWS OF THE WORLD TOUR". It is brush up and it is appearing.
It is recorded in that name recording "Vienna performance May 2, 1978". Its masterpiece audience recording. First of all, let's check the position of the show from the whole view of the world tour as usual.

● 1977
"October 28" NEWS OF THE WORLD "Release"
November 11 - December 22: North America (26 performances)

● 1978
April 12 - May 3: Europe (15 shows)
May 6th - 13th: UK (5 shows)
"July" JAZZ "Production Start"

This is the big picture of "NEWS OF THE WORLD TOUR 1977-1978". The composition is extremely simple, in 1977 right after the release of the album, it turned around North America, and in 1978, when the year was revised, it was a tour of Europe. The Viennese performance of this work was a concert that was the final performance of the final stage of that "European" leg.
On this day Queen's first Vienna show ("Freddie" after "You're My Best Friend" today is the first show in Vienna, we say Vienna, but you guys pronounce Vienna " Although it is said), it is also known as a bad sound recording at the same time. Only one kind of audience recording was excavated, and "Keep Yourself Alive" which it was supposed to have been recorded with hiss was also cut. Well, it was a level that I could only listen ... .... It was 2007 that the image of such a long time has been overturned. Masters of quite different quality were excavated.
To tell the truth, the new master also had the same recording itself, but the sound was completely different. The sound raised from 2nd Gen Master (Omoto master seems to have been lost due to a flood disaster) is several stages clear, and there is no harassing hiss. "Keep Yourself Alive" which had been cut was also completely left. Collector is obsessed with Genes' difference, even in such maniacs it was a surprising master that "Jean is different just now!

That 2nd genie master was loved by our press CD "VIENNA WALTZ (Wardour-049)", but this work has been polished further by meticulous mastering. Of course, we did not measure the apparent upgrade only with sound pressure production. The point is sense of separation. To tell the truth, although the original sound was clear, it was somewhat dango. Even without a problem in a quiet part, when you rock hard like "Brighton Rock" all the instruments became chunks of clumps. Therefore, in this work we organize such ensembles for each range. Beat and melody are separated from chitin even in songs pushing hard, and the presence of 4 people can be tasted firmly.
I will keep in mind that I do not want to make a difference, but this master is a masterpiece from the beginning. It is not an ordinary audience recording because it was pressed from the Wardour label at the same time as excavation. It made it easy to hear that name recording closer to the sound as it was on site. Even this fact alone can understand the splendor of this work.
So the sound that I revived is "NEWS OF THE WORLD TOUR" so I am more pleased. In any case, the QUEEN of this time is the development period when Gungang grew up on every tour. The passion is hot, the ensemble is full of dynamic and hard drive feeling. Hard music blows off like momentum, strong melodies and powerful mellow music. Because it is such a time, it is not a dango, it is not a sound that can be tasteless unless it is a clean sound. This work is a gem that has been polished by mastering after carefully examining the contents of such show and performance.

It is 12 years since excavation of the 2nd genie which replaced the image of "QUEEN's first Vienna". It is a brush up board that draws out the possibility to the maximum. As the Omoto master is lost, you will not be able to hope for an upgrade beyond this one. A valuable and wonderful record of "NEWS OF THE WORLD TOUR". Please, please enjoy it carefully.