2 CD

Label: Wardour 336
Country: Japan
Released: April 2019.
Recorded: Budokan Hall, Tokyo, Japan   February 17th. 1981.
Sound: Excellent audience recording.
Comments:  The 4th. concert on this 5 show's "The Game" tour in Japan. All concert played at Budokan Hall in Tokyo. Only the first 80 will be released with a numbered sticker.
A previous version of this source has been issued on Discs 3 & 4 of Prime Jive (Wardour-030).
Roots: Audience recorded tape.
Time: 56:01 / 55:39

Front cover
 1. Intro: Thunder & Lighting  (tape)
 2. We Will Rock You  (fast)
 3. Let Me Entertain You
 4. Play The Game
 5. Mustapha
 6. Death On Two Legs
 7. Killer Queen
 8. I'm In Love With My Car
 9. Get Down, Make Love
 10. Rock It (Prime Jive)
 11. Save Me
 12. Now I'm Here
 13. Dragon Attack ~
       Now I'm Here  (reprise)
 14. Love Of My Life
 1. Keep Yourself Alive
 2. Drum Solo
 3. Guitar Solo incl. Sakura Sakura
 4. Battle Theme
 5. Flash
 6. The Hero
 7. Crazy Little Thing Called Love
 8. Bohemian Rhapsody
 9. Tie Your Mother Down
 10. Another One Bites The Dust
 11. Sheer Heart Attack
 12. Teo Torriatte
 13. We Will Rock You
 14. We Are The Champions
 15. God Save The Queen  (tape)

Back to bootleg CD  page      Back to MAIN PAGE

Back cover


"THE GAME JAPAN TOUR" which conquered the United States and carried the wind of a great momentum to Japan. The best live album is reproduced from the original cassette. The highest quality is updated and it is appearance in permanent preservation press 2CD.
Such a feature is included in "February 17, 1981: Nippon Budokan" performances. It is the best audience recording. In our shop, there are many masterpieces of archived QUEEN performances during the heyday, but this age is only live at Nippon Budokan, and it is a bit hard to understand. First of all, let's confirm the position of this work in the schedule of those days.

・ February 12 "BATTLE THEME"
   -2 days off-
・ February 16 "BUDOKAN 1981 3RD NIGHT"
・ February 17: Nippon Budokan [This work]
・ February 18: Nippon Budokan

Above, all 5 performances. The show is divided into two shows in the first half and three shows in the second half. This work which recorded such a show is just a masterpiece. The record of this day was known from old times, but the master of this work was excavated in 2003. First appearance on Masterport label "FREDDIE WAS HERE!" It is a name recording that has been loved as part of "PRIME JIVE" even after that. This work is not that remaster ... .... Digitizing again with the latest equipment from the original cassettes handed over by the recording person himself. It is an upgrade grade board which brought out the possibility confined to the cassette of the ultimate gene to the maximum.
In fact, that upgrade is great. Originally, it was a well-known recording that performance and singing voice could reach straightly, but the feeling of air was clear to crystal clear and detail up to detail. As the Omoto cassette, Gene is not going to go up, but the sound itself is as fresh as Gene became younger by two generations. And not only the details. The core itself is even more powerful. If you give me this, it seems like every recording position came out a few strings ago. A bright and golden set list like a laser beam can be drawn clearly.

The upgrade sound alone is a perfect score, but this film aimed for further perfection. That is the compensation for chipping. It was a destiny of cassette recording, and there was a tape change recording omission. One place is not related to the performance after "Save Me", but the problem was "Flash". It was missing from the beginning "that Suzn Sunn ..." to the first "Savior of the universe !!". So, in this work, I have filled in from the masterpiece "DEFINITIVE BUDOKAN 1981 2ND NIGHT". Strictly a different show, but since it is only Freddie's word, I substitute it. Of course, if you listen normally ... No, even if you know it is compensated naturally.
Such quality is depicted in "THE GAME JAPAN TOUR", a show that explodes in Japan. “Mustapha” and “Death On Two Legs”, which can not be heard in the official album “QUEEN ROCK MONTREAL”, are also delicious, and it is interesting that Freddie entered a mistake in “Dragon Attack”, but more than that was revived in Japan “Rock Flash long medley with It (Prime Jive) and "Vultan's Theme / Battle Theme". Indeed, the unique performances of Japan are played one after another.
And, the best part is "Sakura Sakura" and "hand in hand", which are flicked with a guitar solo. These two were played only in "THE GAME JAPAN TOUR" but this work and the last day. Of course, this surprise surprises the audience. Especially the ugly one is "Get your hands" for the first encore song. When the members appear, the voices of Western girls who don't know if they are "Chy" or "Gy" are flying around, but when that intro starts to play back, the serenity is regained quickly, and the sea of ​​the large chorus that simmers in the beat and hands and the heart spread . And with the end of the song "I'm sorry!" Or "Freddie !!" I can not understand whether it's a dilapidated scream is a big explosion !!! (Please be careful with the volume when you listen to it with headphones) It just screams and a large chorus To "We Will Rock You" and "We Are The Champions". Despite how QUEEN at the time was popular worldwide, this enthusiasm can only be in Japan. "Special relationship between Japan and QUEEN" is well known to foreign enthusiasts, but if you listen to this, there is no reason not to think so. It is a huge enthusiasm that would normally be a drawback, but its feelings are so serious that it will only heat up the heart. It is a 38-year-old document that vacuum-packs a huge spectacle.

The revival of "Rock It (Prime Jive)", Flash Long Medley, "Sakura Sakura", "Get your hands", etc., this is a great masterpiece live album that features delicious shows unique to Japan with the upgrade sound of the original cassette. After this, QUEEN will walk the history of twists and turns. However, they and the Japanese audience do not know such a fate either, and they are enjoying the golden age on their own. A two-disc set that can be turned back in such times. Please enjoy to the fullest with permanent preservation press 2CD.

(Remastered note)
★ Equalization has not been done to change the sound quality, so it is the same impression as before, but it has been fine-tuned to increase freshness, so it is an impression that Gene has risen about 2 ranks compared to already issued.