2 CD

Label: Wardour 338
Country: Japan
Released: April 2019
Recorded: Live at the International Hall, Kobe, Japan 23rd April 1975.
Sound: Audience recording.
Comments:  2CD set from Japanese Wardour label, recorded at International Hall, Kobe, Japan on April 23rd, 1975 containing a longer alternate source.
I don't have the cd, but guess average sound quality.
Roots: Audience recorded tape.
Time: 64:56 / 36:17

Front cover
 1. Intro: Procession  (tape)
 2. Now I'm Here
 3. Ogre Battle
 4. Father To Son
 5. White Queen
 6. Flick Of The Wrist
 7. Doing All Right
 8. Medley: In The Lap Of The Gods
 9.               Killer Queen
 10.             The March Of The Black Queen
 11. Bring Back That Leroy Brown
 12. Son And Daughter
 13. Guitar Solo
 14. Band Introductions
 15. Keep Yourself Alive
 16. Seven Seas Of Rhye

 1. Stone Cold Crazy
 2. Liar
 3. In The Lap Of The Gods...Revisited
 - - - - - - - encore - - - - - - - - - - - - -
 4. Big Spender
 5. Modern Times Rock 'n' Roll
 6. Jailhouse Rock
 7. See What A Fool I've Been
 8. God Save The Queen

Back to bootleg CD  page      Back to MAIN PAGE

Back cover

From Internet.

A major incident in April of 44 years ago that changed the history of Western music in Japan. QUEEN's first visit to Japan. One masterpiece live album to experience the scene is born again.
Such a work is contained in "April 23, 1975: Kobe International Hall" performances. It is a long audience recording that can overlook the whole view. Speaking of their first visit to Japan, "TSUMAGOI 1975 (Wardour-335)" just got very popular the other day. First, let's organize the collection according to the schedule.

・ April 19: Nippon Budokan
・ April 22 "NAGOYA 1975"
・ April 23 "DEFINITIVE KOBE 1975" & [this work]
・ April 25: Fukuoka City Kuden Memorial Gymnasium
・ April 28 "FATAL ATTRACTION (Okayama)"
・ April 29 "TSUMAGOI 1975"
・ April 30: Yokohama Culture Gymnasium
・ May 1 "AN EXCEPTIONAL LEGACY (Japan Budokan)"
※ Each performance only representative works.

The above is all 8 performances of fate. We store many of them in our shop, and the Kobe show has already been introduced in "DEFINITIVE KOBE 1975 (Wardour-311)". However, this work is another recording of that completely. It is a recording that has been known to exist among core traders since ancient times, but it is a story within the group. The Press CD is, of course, a treasure tape that has generally not been widely distributed.
Its biggest point is the length. "DEFINITIVE KOBE 1975" was one of the best high-quality sounds on the first visit to Japan, but unfortunately the recording ended with "Liar" approaching the end. On the other hand, this work includes almost the entire view of the show from the opening "Procession" to the ending "God Save The Queen". "In The Lap Of The Gods ... Revisited" "Big Spender" "Modern Times Rock 'n' Roll" "Jailhouse Rock" "See What A Fool I've Been" "God" That I Did Not Listen In "DEFINITIVE KOBE 1975" You can also taste Save The Queen.

Of course, the tape change cut is inevitable to record only in the cassette age, but it is also compensated as much as possible with "DEFINITIVE KOBE 1975". 30 seconds of "Procession" performance and the middle of "Stone Cold Crazy" are connected seamlessly. Although the first half of "See What A Fool I've Been" not found in "DEFINITIVE KOBE 1975" is still lacking, it is not a complete version, but you can experience the valuable first visit to Japan over 101 minutes and 13 seconds. is.
It has been called long and long, but of course the quality is also great. Although it is not possible to expect the clearness as the vertex record "DEFINITIVE KOBE 1975" as it is, it is not even the type that searches for performance beyond the noise if it is not (all) like roar or explosion. The air feel is warm and vintage, and the luster without distortion and noise is wonderful. Freddie's voice that cuts through the inside is really lonely, and the Japanese MC of "Good evening! How are you" is clearly understood. A sense of stability that does not cause an overpeak while the guitar and the rhythm corps are also full of force. Although it is not the top, it is a well-known recording that can be fully immersed in performance.

Kobe's one night depicted with such a sound is wonderful. You can enjoy the fresh performance only in the first visit to Japan in the whole volume, but after all the attention is "In The Lap Of The Gods ... Revisited" which was not heard in "DEFINITIVE KOBE 1975". Especially, it is the last of 'Seek What A Fool I've Been' and 'God Save The Queen'. As mentioned earlier, “See What A Fool I've Been” is missing the first half, but recording resumes in the second half of the song. Once I came to the ending where the song was decided, I broke once and Freddie shouted, "We are coming to Japan and I am very happy!" It is unfamiliar to Japanese, yet it is a voice that can bite every word clearly. Freddie always told me thanks in Japanese MC, but I can not think of a voice with such a real feeling. And this work transcends the dimension of "I can hear MC", and the sound with which the nuance of the voice can be felt vividly. It's a live album where Freddie's message is smooth and hearty, not to mention it.

And Freddie sings the last passage, and this work which receives a large circle of "God Save The Queen". This final edition is the best part of the Kobe performance that I could not taste in "DEFINITIVE KOBE 1975". The first visit to Japan to be passed down until today. The heat performance that the surprise, the impression and the thanks are packed in a lot. And MC. A great document album that lets you taste them in full scale.
Again, in sound quality, "DEFINITIVE KOBE 1975" is at the very top of the list. However, this work is the first coming-to-Japan album that shakes its heart in a dimension beyond such a mere top battle. The 44th spring since the first visit to Japan, and 2019 where QUEEN has been attracting attention as never before. That's why now, please enjoy carefully with permanent preservation press 2CD.